November 28, 2021

#23: Last night, I finished my fifteenth book of the year.

There aren’t many things that I am envious of. (Well, to be honest, there aren’t many things that I am willing to admit being envious of.) However, at least once a week I experience the following:

Mr. Toffolo, I’m returning this book! It was awesome!” The student gleefully places another book on the counter.

That’s awesome! My goodness, this new book is almost 800 pages!”

The student smiles and simply says, Yeah, I should have it back in two days.”

As the student skips away, I think to myself, 800 pages in two days? I wish I could do that.”

Reader, if I am envious of anything, it’s this. I desperately want to be able to eat books like this student. (I am speaking metaphorically, of course.)

If you’ve been following along over the last twenty-three entries, you already know that I am a school librarian and former English teacher. Throughout my career, people have always assumed that I am a great reader, but I’ve been keeping a secret from all of you: I am and always will be a struggling reader. Elementary school brought resource room classes, for reading specifically, and in high school, I perfected the art of hiding behind the person in front of me, so I wouldn’t have to read outload.

At the risk of sounding like I braggart, I want to share a personal reading milestone: last night, I finished my fifteenth book of the year; by far the most I’ve ever read in my life. Three years ago, I started correlating my New Year’s resolutions with my reading goals, and each year the number increased. Ten was doable; last year’s twelve was attained; and as you now know, fifteen is my rear-view mirror.

If you were to ask me even five years ago the possibility of reading fifteen books in a year, I would have filed it my Yeah, right” folder. So, what’s the difference between then and now? Allocation of time. I try my best to read for at least 25-30 minutes a day (usually right before bed), and that has made all the difference.

Before I continue this year’s book journey, I wanted to reflect on this year’s completions. Maybe you’ll see something on here you like for yourself.

Thanks for reading.

Ready Player Two by Earnest Cline

What I learned: Even someone who writes well can pump out a cheap, knockoff sequel for a quick buck.

Dear Martin by Nic Stone

What I learned: Stories that show different perspectives on race-relations can lead to better understanding and empathy for all.

The Midnight Library by Matt Haig

What I learned: In my own life, I am happy and content with the universe that I live in. (I wrote about this in a previous post.)

12 Rules for Life by Jordan Peterson

What I learned: There are many things we cannot control, but there are things we can do, as individuals, to better our lives.

Old Man’s War by John Scalzi

What I learned: The end can be a new beginning (and I’ll always have a huge place in my heart for SciFi).

Look Both Ways by Jason Reynolds

What I learned: Life, in all its forms, happens as students walk home from school. Also, Jayson Reynolds is one of the best writers of our time.

Greenlights by Matthew McConaughey

What I learned: The Oscar-winning actor’s life story provides important perspectives on life for us all. Also, Alright, Alright.”

Glow Kids by Dr. Nicolas Kardaras

What I learned: Don’t give kids access to smartphones and tablets. Research shows it’s a very bad idea.

I Kill Giants by Joe Kelly

What I learned: Anxiety and trauma can manifest itself in many ways for children. Also, graphic novels are more than just superhero comic books.

The Next Person You Meet In Heaven by Mitch Albom

What I learned: It’s possible for a sequel to compliment the first so well without being a cheap-cash grab. Well done, Mr. Albom.

Kent State by Derf Backderf

What I learned: Misinformation, fake news, and tribalism is not a product of our current times. It was alive and well in the 60s and 70s.

Paperboy by Vince Vawter

What I learned: Young adult books, while simple at heart, tell the best and universal stories.

The People, No by Thomas Frank

What I learned: Populism isn’t a bad thing, but anti-populist tactics have been used to divide the working class since the late 1800s. (This book, in particular, might deserve its own future post.)

Dedicated by Pete Davis

What I learned: Long, committed dedication to a profession or service garners satisfaction in life. It’s also becoming increasingly rare in a world of infinite browsing.

The War on Normal People by Andrew Yang

What I learned: As automation of jobs becomes more prevalent, working class people are screwed. The author offers possible solutions to help working class people.