May 16, 2021

#10: After studying educational leadership this semester, I can’t help but think about the Ninja Turtles.

During my fourth year of teaching, a colleague and friend of mine started taking education administration courses. At the time, I remember thinking: teaching is hard enough, why would anyone want to add administration to their plate? When eventually asked, my colleague turned to me, smiled, and said, Chris, at some point you just realize that if you want to implement real change, you’ve got to become an admin.”

As of the writing of these words, my eleventh year in education is coming to a close, and much has changed since my friend expressed his opinions to me. Today, I find myself doing something I never thought I would do: taking classes in education administration. While I’m not sure exactly what path this certification program will lead me down, the course work thus far has been centered around different theories and philosophies behind educational leadership. There’s Sergio Giovanni’s Moral Leadership (one I’m particularly fond of), Transactional Leadership, Servent Leadership, and more.

After studying educational leadership this semester, I can’t help but think about the Ninja Turtles.

Allow me to back up and provide some context here. The Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles are my gateway drug into fandom. These four reptilian brothers leaped off the screen and into my heart for the long haul. (In fact, my ID badge and key lanyard at work has them prominently displayed all over it.) The theme song to the original 80s cartoon (as many 80s cartoons do) perfectly set the tone and introduce/remind you of who the characters are.

Halfway through the theme song, you are told Leonardo leads. Donatello does machines.” Leonardo is the quintessential leader of the group: serious, stoic, and rational. Donatello on the other hand, does more than just machines. Machines here are a symbol for thinking things through and using resources to solve problems. In many episodes, Donatello’s plans save the day.

After these two, the theme song continues, Raphael is cool but rude.” Some might say that Raph is the coolest of the group, but I’ve always seen him as someone who acts on raw emotion, for good or bad. He is brute strength and will go headfirst into any situation. There is definitely something cool about that. This part of the theme song ends with, …and Michelangelo is a party dude!” Here, we get a sense that Mikey is the fun loving, carefree, member of the group. Someone that provides levity and humor when warranted.

Looked at in this light with these traits, one can argue (and I do) that the Ninja Turtles are the perfect team. Each member compliments and balances each other in a unique way. It’s no wonder why so many other shows tried to copy their formula. (I’m looking at you Street Sharks.)

During the final day of my Educational Leadership Theories” class, we were asked to bring in an artifact to hang in up in our future office,” to always remind us about what being a leader is all about. A few days before, I thought about what I could use and was all set on using some Winston Churchill quote. That was until I passed by my fridge and glanced over at my Ninja Turtles magnet.

The four brothers leapt out of my heart into my mind where I connected them to the various leadership styles that I learned throughout the semester.

Those of you in leadership positions or work for one, know that a leader wears many hats. Or at least for the sake of this analogy, many bandanas. There are times where a leader might have be a Leo” where they are rational and serious. However, there are other times for a leader to be a Raph,” and show emotion. At the same time, leaders will have to carefully plan using the resources and technology at their disposal. Of course, leaders will have to provide calmness for their followers as well.

It is important to know which turtle you naturally are even if you aren’t a leader. I am happy to be the Donatello of my school. (If you work with me, I think you’d agree.) Being a Donatello,” usually comes with some introversion, which is in direct contrast with someone who is a Raphael.” This means I have an opportunity to grow and/or I need to make sure I have a Raph” on my team when needed.

So, I’m Donatello. Which turtle are you?

Thanks for reading.