March 14, 2021

#03: Would you take a step into another universe?

About a month ago, I finished reading The Midnight Library by Matt Haig. To be honest, I am a sucker for books about libraries. I mean, after all, I am a school librarian by trade. But, Mr. Haig’s beautifully written story, while predictable, had an intriguing premise: between life and death sits a library and there, you can checkout” the other lives you could have lived. The story’s protagonist finds herself at the library’s doorsteps and is faced with a situation many of us wonder throughout our own lives: what could have been?

The Midnight Library employs the concept of a multiverse where there’s a complete universe based on different outcomes to decision you make throughout your life. For example, let’s say when you were applying to college, there were two schools to choose between. A universe was created (the one you are living in) by going to one college, and another universe was created for the other. While some people will appear in both (like family members and people you grew up with), there are many that will not (like your roommate at the other college). Get it? I’m sure you’ve seen a movie that uses this as plot device before and explains it a little better.

I kept thinking about The Midnight Library even days after reading it. Would I want to take a step into another universe and see if it’s a little better than the one that I’m living in? If you would have asked me earlier in life, I most likely would have said yes. I would have needed to know if things would have worked out differently if my actions were different. I would have needed to know what life would be like if that relationship did work out. However, earlier in life, I was no where near as happy as I am today, and I think that’s exactly why I’m less inclined to see what my other universes look like today.

Throughout all the different lives that Haig shows us, one thing is clear: nothing is perfect. No life experienced by the story’s protagonist brought eternal happiness. Life is filled with a range of emotions, and we all experience that range sooner or later. I think that’s why I would have quickly answered yes in my early twenties. There was so much confusion during that time, and I was completely unsure of who I was. In those moments, it’s much easier to glance with wonder at what else could be.

This universe isn’t perfect, not by a long shot, and there’s still so much more to learn. But, it’s pretty darn good, and it’s a universe I’m glad I live in.

Thanks for reading.