#02: I used a Flip Phone for 30 Days. Here’s what I found.

March 7, 2021

After reading that title, you might be saying to yourself, Chris, are you crazy?” or Did you lose a bet or something?” The answer to both of those questions is definitively no.” I recently found out that I am going to be a first-time dad, and as exciting as this is, I am a little uneasy about the world my future kid is coming in to. Especially, when every study under the sun about Smartphones and social media for kids show a negative conclusion.

By now, it’s no secret the power that our Smartphones have over us. If you’ve never turned-on Screen Time” on iOS, or its Android equivalent, I implore you to do so and see just how often you’re glued to it. At my absolute worst, I was averaging about two and half hours a day. (That’s nothing compared to the six or seven that some of my student’s average.) There are a ton of helpful tricks and tips to cut down on one’s screen time out there. However, like a smoker who sneaks one every now and then, the deep-rooted addiction never, ever truly ends.

After watching, what I consider, the most underrated TED Talk on the internet, I was inspired to challenge myself. Do I want to model to my next of kin what it’s like to be a person or a digital zombie? Because if there’s one thing that’s true, it’s this: whatever I do, they will follow. So, I decided to get my ducks in a row.

I decided to get a flip phone in 2021.

First, some context. My cell phone history is like many of those who came of age in the early 2000s. I bought my first cell phone (a Nokia brick) my senior year of high school. It could call, text, and play snake. It did not grab my attention more than that. While my device would change since that first brick, the use of it would not. Along the way, the iPod came out, and these two devices were stables in my jacket pockets. Eventually my phone and iPod would merge into one, and that device would cannibalize other devices and services as well until so much of my time (and likely yours) was spent looking at it. Something was lost in the merger, and what was lost I found again in my flip phone.

What did I find? Compartmentalization.

I can’t speak for everybody, but for me, a paralysis comes with unlimited options and choice. With my sim card out of my iPhone and into my very basic flip phone, it allowed me to compartmentalize purposes. My flip phone was my communicator (calls and texts), and my iPhone turned into an offline media player. I needed to be able to always communicate with people, and while I still love podcasts and music, I don’t need unfettered access to them every minute of the day. The flip phone travels with me everywhere, and most days, I don’t even touch my iPhone (now turned iPod) until I need it for a specific purpose (music, podcast, banking, etc.). Compartmentalization is the key here, and because my flip phone is very unstimulating, it’s very easy to ignore.

I also found something else.

Before the flip phone, I didn’t realize how much my device beckoned me to use it. The first week of transition was very difficult, but after that there was a quiet and calmness that took over. I must admit; it’s really nice.

Do I think this blog post will inspire masses to flip out and buy a flip phone? Probably not. I’m just trying to be present for my kid, and that’s enough for me not to be able to Venmo someone immediately.

Thanks for reading.